Prime Minister Narendra Modi made a significant announcement on February 9, conferring the prestigious Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honour, on three distinguished individuals: former Prime Ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh, and renowned farm scientist MS Swaminathan.

Recognition of PV Narasimha Rao:

PM Modi described PV Narasimha Rao as a “distinguished scholar and statesman” whose tenure as Prime Minister left a lasting impact on India’s trajectory.

Narasimha Rao’s initiatives in opening India to global markets and his contributions to foreign policy, language, and education sectors were highlighted, showcasing his diverse legacy as a leader.

His pivotal role in steering India through significant transformations and enriching the country’s intellectual heritage was acknowledged.

Acknowledgment of MS Swaminathan’s Contributions:

Screenshot 2024 02 09 at 7.16.22 PM

PM Modi recognized MS Swaminathan’s pivotal role in India’s agricultural sector, particularly in achieving self-reliance during challenging times.

Swaminathan’s efforts in modernizing Indian agriculture were praised for ensuring the nation’s food security and prosperity.

His invaluable contributions to farmers’ welfare and his instrumental role in the ‘Green Revolution’ underscored the significance of his recognition with the Bharat Ratna.

Tribute to Chaudhary Charan Singh:

PM Modi paid tribute to Chaudhary Charan Singh for his incomparable contribution to the nation, particularly in advocating for the rights and welfare of farmers.

Singh’s lifelong dedication to nation-building, whether as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Home Minister of the country, or as an MLA, was highlighted.

His relentless efforts in empowering farmers and prioritizing their interests exemplified his commitment to the nation’s progress and prosperity.

Significance of Bharat Ratna Announcement:

PM Modi’s announcement marked a significant addition to the prestigious Bharat Ratna awardees, recognizing the exemplary contributions of these eminent personalities.

The inclusion of Narasimha Rao, Charan Singh, and Swaminathan posthumously in the list of Bharat Ratna recipients underscored their enduring legacy and profound impact on India’s development.

The announcement came shortly after the recognition of senior BJP leader LK Advani and former Bihar chief minister Karpoori Thakur with the Bharat Ratna, reflecting a diverse spectrum of honorees from different fields.

The move was welcomed by various political leaders, including Sonia Gandhi and Jayant Singh, who hailed the decision to honour their respective leaders.

You May Have Missed These:

Jasprit Bumrah Climbs to no.1 Spot in ICC Test Rankings

sheikh hasina wins record 5th term as pm-bangladesh

top 10 suvs worldwide-price range and sales figures

top 20 hill view 5 star resorts in india

Paris Votes to Crack Down on SUVs

Have You Got a Turkey Neck?

reduce significant weight-daily walk and controlled regular diet

Growing “india out” Movement in Bangladesh